Hopping Centuries for Fun, Painting Hexen for Profit, Growing Stuff for??

One thing I can say for sure, my life is never boring.

Early this year, a friend drafted me to accompany her to a living history event, put on by and in support of the Fort Halifax state historic site here in Maine.  They have an annual event in Fort Halifax park, in Winslow, ME, featuring historical reenactment and other fun stuff, of which we were a part, as spinners. So, on Saturday past, we packed up our wheels and took to the road, me with my Ashford wheel and her — with more guts than I have — with a persnickety great wheel! I wish I had hauled along a video camera to capture her work as well as she captured mine, but …  I am in awe of the garb she produced, both for herself and her young friend (not shown) who also was spinning and weaving on the small loom seen on the table.

It was a delightful day and I suspect we will be doing more of this sort of activity. There are times when I feel more at home with at least one foot in the past than I do trying to cope with the insanity that runs rampant these days.

But, back on the farm, there are many hexen to be painted to ship, the garden is finally beginning to take hold (though we have a great production of lettuce and spinach in process! I must pick more spinach to put by soon, and am very thankful for the cooler, wet spring which seems to have helped one of my favorite crops.) and one of the black hens has gone broody. I hope to get the hatchery crop of baby turkeys outside this week, so I can clean up and make room for the hatchery crop of meat chickens coming next week (both for us and to grow for a friend)  and I really need to go back through my notes to see when I need to begin looking for babies under the broody hen, too. It has been our experience that letting the hen hatch, but brooding indoors, works best for us.

I am keeping a close watch on the baby peaches! Totally amazed that this,

the first year of planting a peach tree from Fedco, I have fruit! Traditionally, peaches have been raised in Maine, but of late the most successful growers seem to be those who live in town – at least here in my area — where the temperature fluctuate less and the buildings and roads offer protection. But here they are! The tree is mulched with a blanket of moth eaten sheep’s fleece, so maybe that is the secret?

“Resistance hex” will be empowered
to support the values our Founding
Fathers promoted.

On another thread, my neighbor who is a house painter by trade, and I have worked out a deal to get my garage painted “barn red” and he has been hard at work doing the prep so this can happen. Other events in play, which I will talk about later, have pushed me to follow through on a several year old plan to add multiple hex signs to the garage, including a 6 foot diameter version of this “resistance hex” at the peak of the west side of the building. I designed it several years ago, and am planning to make some changes, mostly in the proportions of the design, and then painting it directly on the building, the very old way! My neighbor/painter will start with the wall on which I pant to paint this design and then continue to work on the rest of the garage, so I can get started. I will add additional signs of they type I paint for sale (on plywood, mounted with screws) to the long south face of the building and over the doors, where he can be seen scraping in the photo.

I am very excited about this project, as well as the current orders in the queue. And I am excited, as well, by the continued damp weather which means less watering in the garden, but no good painting weather. LOL Just call me Pollyanna; I can find something good in anything! How about you?

Leave a comment